Treble Registers of the Accordion


Bassoon accordion symbol
Bassoon - Low Reed - (L)
Clarinet accordion symbol
Clarinet - Middle Reed (M)
Piccolo - High Reed (H)
Bandoneon accordion symbol
Bandoneon - High and Middle Reeds (LM)
Violin accordion symbol
Violin - Two Middle Reeds (MM)
Oboe accordion symbol
Oboe - Middle and High Reeds (MH)
Organ accordion symbol
Organ - Low and High Reeds (LH)
Harmonium accordion symbol
Harmonium - Low, Middle and High Reeds (LMH)
Accordion accordion symbol
Accordion - Low, Two Middle Reeds (LMM)
Simulated Musette accordion symbol
Simulated Musette - Two Middle and High Reeds (MMH)
True Musette accordion symbol
True Musette - Three Middle Reeds (MMM)
Master with Musette accordions symbol
Master with Musette - Low and Three Middle Reeds (LMMM)
Master with Piccolo accordion symbol
Master with Piccolo - Low, Two Middles and High Reeds (LMMH)


The symbols are arranged as if they are being viewed from behind the keyboard. The treble register/switch with the most amount of dots is called the Master. This will represent the total amount of reeds available on that accordion. For example, an accordion that has a Master switch with 3 dots will be regarded as a 3 reed accordion. Note that some older accordions employed different register names or in rare cases they used the wrong symbol.